Back on Track

I have a habit of going to work even when I’m not working, but I had resolved to actually take the planned-for three days (unheard of!) off, as intended, and not go in. Even when you love your job, sometimes you need to take some ‘you-time’. Well, the ‘me-time’ lasted two out of three days, but today I missed the birds, and I really wanted to do a session with One-eye. So, in I went!

While I was there, we also got Blinky and Kohl up on glove to take stock of them. The bruise Kohl had on her chest when she arrived is almost gone now, and both of them are in excellent shape– and, thankfully, both of them are slimming down. They’re still pretty fat, though.

The new red-tail I mentioned a few entries back, who is not on my training list, hadn’t been worked with today because her trainer (who is worse than I am about coming in on her days off) had been temporarily banned from the building to get some much-needed downtime. I decided to do a session with her as well– in this blog she will be known as ‘Twist’.

Twist:

Twist was hit by a truck on the highway, and lost her left eye as a result. Unfortunately, she also has a blind spot in her good eye, which adds further complication to her training. She’s responsive but nervous, and has a habit of twisting around in a circle to take stock of her surroundings when uncertain of herself. There was a note in her training log that she had been very snappy in a previous session, so we took it slow today. She definitely had trouble seeing the food at first, and ‘stabs’ at it with her beak. This frequently results in the food ending up on the floor, on her, on me… pretty much everywhere except inside her.

Still, for a session of just feeding small pieces and– by the end– asking her to step up calmly, she did very well.

One-eye:

When I stepped One-eye up today, I could tell he was ready to work. I can’t say that he missed me, as most raptors are not social in that way, but he definitely recognized me and seemed eager for our session. I pushed him pretty hard today on the cue/no-cue thing– to the point of visible frustration, twice. He’d bounce away to other perches, stomp a bit, and when he did get rewarded, he’d snap at the food peevishly. His irritation with this particular exercise aside, I can finally say he is starting to get it. It’s not every time, but more than once now I have seen him check himself from flying because he the glove came up but he wasn’t given the cue. He never ignores the cue when it’s given, but he frequently ignores the raised glove otherwise, except when excited. But when he gets excited and comes without the cue– and doesn’t get rewarded– that’s when the temper tantrum starts.

Whenever he got too frustrated, we’d take a break and work on reinforcing things he’s already good at– three long hallway flights and a lot of pointing to perches. He was great! I think I’m going to spread out a bit and fly him in the big front room tomorrow after program, and see if I can get him performing at longer distances. And, of course, keep working on the cue.

Bonus Photo:

Why? Because everyone needs a little owl in their lives.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blinky, Kohl, One-eye, Twist

Leave a Reply

